Haydn, Hot Cocoa, and Cake Pops

A post shared by Sarai Brinker (@sgbrinker) on

A few evenings ago, I had the most amazing moment in parenting since actually giving birth, and it was made all the more memorable because it involved Haydn and Hot Cocoa.

My former piano teacher, William Westney, was giving a recital in Hemmle Recital Hall, and I’d heard him give an interview about the program, which promised to be impressive, even cinematic.

For over a year now, I’ve been giving my son Oliver piano lessons at home. It can be frustrating at times but I see how proud he is of himself when he masters a song, and it makes my heart swell and it means the world to me that I can offer him that, that I can share music with him in that way.

I knew I wanted to see the concert, but I wasn’t sure how a Pre-K kiddo would handle it, or if he could enjoy it like I did. He could be bored, he could be restless, plus it was past his bedtime.

We went anyway, and on the ride there I told him about the pianist and the pieces and how we were going to be quiet so we could hear the beautiful music.

Oliver was so engaged, so moved by this music- it was something really magical to watch. His eyes and ears were wide open and he didn’t say a word until the first piece was over, after which he clapped excitedly and yelled, “I LOVED IT! I LOVED IT!!”

The next piece was longer and it was 9PM, and Oliver rested his head on my shoulder and at one point fell quietly asleep before being awakened during the fiery last section of a sonata.

During Intermission I carried him to the car and he whispered, “Mom, that was the most beautifulest music I ever heard in my LIFE.”

I will treasure that memory.

After that, I took him to Starbucks as a special treat, and he ordered a kid’s hot cocoa and a cake pop.  I hope to make this a tradition after we see a concert together.

Me and ollie on our post-recital mommy/son date 🙂

A post shared by Sarai Brinker (@sgbrinker) on

Leave a Reply

