Spatchcock Chicken

In preparation for Thanksgiving this year I am brushing up on my Spatchcock technique.  After watching a Kenji video about making the perfect Spatchcock Turkey I am prepping a few small chickens in advance to get my technique down.  If you haven’t seen this video take a look:

I took care to brine my chicken for about 6 hours before cooking.  After removal of the back bone I flattened the chicken out over onions and cubed butternut squash.  I cooked this in the oven with high heat at 450 for about 30 minutes until the breast and leg meat hit their appropriate temps.  I removed the chicken to rest and continued roasting the vegetables for a few additional minutes.

IMG_1799 IMG_1800 IMG_1801

I also prepped some cous cous for an additional side as well.  The results are fantastic. The chicken comes out perfectly cooked – completely done dark meat with moist white meat.  I can’t wait for Thanksgiving to try this with a Turkey!!!!

IMG_1802

Leave a Reply

